Thumbelina Ballerina

It was early nineteen thirty four

The world was set to change

Europe was on fire

It was time to rearrange
Poland was the first stop

The German Army on the move

So we left for America

I hope you did approve
You came with me to Jersey

On a trip across the sea

You’ve guarded all my secrets

Known by only you and me
You used to spin quite gaily

Now you just stand there en pointe

You’re my clipped wing little angel

That’s the name I shall anoint
Thumbelina, Ballerina

Dance your dance for me

We’ve been together eighty years

You are who I want to be

Thumbelina, Ballerina

Just one more pirouette

We’ve been together all this time

Our dancing’s not done yet
I sit here and remember

All the treasures you once hid

You’ve still some trinkets in there

Some from when I was a kid
Your tu tu is all tattered

The silk lining frayed and torn

But, you’ve held together nicely

But, I guess we’re both quite worn
Your lipstick isn’t red now

I hear your music in my head

It hasn’t played for 50 years

I just remember it instead
The music gave up playing

You were slightly over wound

But, you still twirled and kept dancing

Even though there was no sound
Thumbelina, Ballerina

Dance your dance for me

We’ve been together eighty years

You are who I want to be

Thumbelina, Ballerina

Just one more pirouette

We’ve been together all this time

Our dancing’s not done yet
I’ve told you more than anyone

Than I have ever known

We’ve been together now forever

You’re the most precious thing I own
You’ve been with me for two husbands

And you’ve seen my kids pass on

There’s just me and you,  my dancing girl

All the rest of them are gone
Your paint is chipped and cracked

Your pony tail is broken too

If I still can recollect now

In the fall of fifty two
Your spring is rusted tightly

You need a hand to stand up right

But, then again, I do as well

And most days it’s quite the fight
Thumbelina, Ballerina

Dance your dance for me

We’ve been together eighty years

You are who I want to be

Thumbelina, Ballerina

Just one more pirouette

We’ve been together all this time

Our dancing’s not done yet
Charms and little trinkets

Plastic jewellery, real as well

Secrets of a child

Secrets you would never tell
I am now moving to December

Of my calendar of years

Soon my life will end and

There’s no one left to shed  me tears
I sit here and I wonder

What shall become of you

My Thumbelina Ballerina

In your dancing dress of blue
You started as a music box

You are not used as that no more

But, Thumbelina Ballerina

Will you dance for me once more?
Thumbelina, Ballerina

Dance your dance for me

We’ve been together eighty years

You are who I want to be

Thumbelina, Ballerina

Just one more pirouette

We’ve been together all this time

Our dancing’s not done yet

Leave a Reply

