Friendly Fire

The doorbell rang
I answered it
And standing at the door
Were two men
In their uniform
I knew what they came for

I knew right then
I’d lost you
I was alone
And you were gone
The plans we made together
Were now dust
The plans were done

Friendly Fire, what the hell
I don’t know just where to start
Friendly Fire, What Is That
It’s left a hole inside my heart
Friendly Fire, that’s ok
I can’t get it through my head
Friendly Fire, not so bad
I don’t get it…dead is dead

You were killed while doing nothing
On patrol, on a safe road
When a soldier hit the button
Dropping his bomb payload

Sixteen men and women
Killed on their side of the wire
But, it’s ok, smile now…
They were killed by Friendly Fire

Friendly Fire, what the hell
I don’t know just where to start
Friendly Fire, What Is That
It’s left a hole inside my heart
Friendly Fire, that’s ok
I can’t get it through my head
Friendly Fire, not so bad
I don’t get it…dead is dead

Do you still die as a hero?
When you don’t die in a fight?
Do you still go on to heaven?
Do you still see the same light?

You survived your basic training
You survived the muck and mire
To go and be a victim of
Something called Friendly Fire

Friendly Fire, what the hell
I don’t know just where to start
Friendly Fire, What Is That
It’s left a hole inside my heart
Friendly Fire, that’s ok
I can’t get it through my head
Friendly Fire, not so bad
I don’t get it…dead is dead

8 thoughts on “Friendly Fire

  1. give your husband my thanks for his service. thanks for the kind words about this write. it’s just a character. if you liked this, check out prayer of a soldiers wife, it’s on here as well. i would love your comments on that one. please share this with any other military families you know, i appreciate the feedback and support. roger

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow…this is very powerful. Seeing that my hubby is military…which I don’t “publicize” lately…but it is what it is. You did an amazing job of capturing exactly what my heart would feel. As if it would have been ripped from my body. If this has happened to you, or someone you know…I give my condolences and utmost respect to both the soldier and the one left behind. If it was just a random thought, well then bravo anyway! You brought tears to my eyes this early morning!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

