My Thumb, it leads the way…

  • I bounce around from town to town

    Never really laying roots

    My world is in my duffle

    With a second pair of boots

    I muddle through with what I have

    I’m always on the road

    With my thoughts, and few possessions

    That’s me, always on the go

    I do not have a fixed address

    My thumb, it leads the way

    I’ve woken up in farmers fields

    I’ve slept near bales of hay

    My thumb, it is my compass

    I don’t reside too long

    I move around at random

    I’m a lyric with no song

    I’ve slept beneath a starlit sky

    Woken up in feather beds

    I don’t know where I’ll be each day

    Or where I’ll lay my head

    I’ve lived down by the train tracks

    Woken up as they go by

    I’ve cavorted with a scarecrow

    As the birds still filled the sky

    I do not have a fixed address

    My thumb, it leads the way

    I’ve woken up in farmers fields

    I’ve slept near bales of hay

    My thumb, it is my compass

    I don’t reside too long

    I move around at random

    I’m a lyric with no song

    I do not like to stick around

    To linger, that’s not me
    When I start to getting comfortable
    It’s time to leave, be free
    I have no one that I’m close to
    For to leave would cause them pain
    The world is there to travel
    And, well….now, I’m off again…

     

Leave a Reply

