Scratch Beneath My Surface

Scratch Beneath My Surface
 

No one really knows me

What really makes it tick

Why I always keep on moving

Why I live my life so quick

what lies beneath the surface

No one really knows

And I do my best to let on

That nothing really shows

Scratch beneath my surface

And enter in my mind

Don’t go deep my darlin’

You may not like what you might find

I’m a puzzle wrapped in onion skin

Don’t dig too deep with me

Go too far beneath the surface

And you won’t like what you will see

 

I smile lots, and walk away

Never showing how I feel

You only see the face I want

You don’t know if it’s real

I’m a shaman with a changing soul

Selling snake oil on the side

Don’t dig too deep into my mind

You won’t like what is inside

Scratch beneath my surface

And enter in my mind

Don’t go deep my darlin’

You may not like what you might find

I’m a puzzle wrapped in onion skin

Don’t dig too deep with me

Go too far beneath the surface

And you won’t like what you will see

 

Leave a Reply

