I Won’t Go To The City

I won’t travel to the city

There is nothing for me there

I won’t travel to the city

Not even on a dare

I won’t travel to the city

I’m fine right where I am

I won’t travel to the city

And I don’t give a damn

Years have passed

I won’t forget

Where I stood that fateful day

I was shopping In the city

God Bless The USA

I won’t get on an airplane

I’m much safer on the ground

I won’t go back to the city

And I won’t forget the sound

I’ve driven on the turnpike

And I just turned around

I won’t go back to the city

I watched them tumble down

Each time I try to leave here

the taste of concrete dust

fills my throat with acid

and jet fuel fumes and rust

I won’t go to the city

And though it may seem strange

I was there when horror happened

With a cop…and now I’m changed

Years have passed

I won’t forget

Where I stood that fateful day

I was shopping In the city

God Bless The USA

Leave a Reply

